Anticipation

Means many things in life, the anticipation of love, birth, children growing up, spring; the list goes on and on. For me aniticpation means counting the days until I can go see my son and his new wife which brings with it the close of another semester of Grad. classes. With all of the anticipation comes the end of the semester stresses, trying to finish or start projects that should be finalized soon. The anticipation of acceptance of a job well done, and the all mighty grade. Something else comes with all of the anticipation of completing another semester, to me it’s sadness. I have really enjoyed my classes this semester; they have been more than classes, they have been “fun” and a great ease of learning comes with that. Just what I want my classes to be, fun while learning takes place. My tech class has brought another dimension of learning, a new level of learning in that I have learned so many new techy things i can utlize in my class, this makes me happy. Teaching is one of the most challenging jobs I have ever had. It is an enormous responsibility that we hold in the palm of our hands. We owe our best to our students and through my classes I feel i have some new tools to use. This is good.

One response to “Anticipation

  1. Peter Schultheis

    I have seen in my two semesters here at Naz in the graduate program that all of my classes have been fun. Sure there is some stress, but it is also fun, which makes it well worth it. It reminds me of a Mark Twain quote:
    “What work I have done I have done because it has been play. If it had been work I shouldn’t have done it. Who was it who said, “Blessed is the man who has found his work”? Whoever it was he had the right idea in his mind. Mark you, he says his work–not somebody else’s work. The work that is really a man’s own work is play and not work at all. Cursed is the man who has found some other man’s work and cannot lose it. When we talk about the great workers of the world we really mean the great players of the world. The fellows who groan and sweat under the weary load of toil that they bear never can hope to do anything great. How can they when their souls are in a ferment of revolt against the employment of their hands and brains? The product of slavery, intellectual or physical, can never be great.”

Leave a comment