Happy Easter

I had quite an exciting week in my classroom, it wasn’t bad enough that quite a few were out sick, the others were there coughing and sniffing… but alas clean-up with my 7th graders came with it a snake slithering along the heater vent on the floor. The girls were jumping on the tables, the boys wanted to pick up the snake and I had to be at the opposite end of the room to push the office call button. It was quite chaotic. It took all I had not to jump on the table with the girls.. although it was a small snake, it was still a snake. .. I grabbed a box and put over it, then grabbed another box to put on top to weigh it down. Of course word got out quickly and my room became well known very quickly as the “snake room”. It would have made a great movie clip.

Writing my paper has been another challenge. I am solid with the subject matter, but not quite sure how to approach writing the paper so it’s not dry regurgitation of facts. Digital Imaging is a bit new to the profession as far as students usage within the curriculum. I am still not sure that it enhances the curriculum as much as it offer another style of learning for those who find reading a challenge or a bore. I did like a fact that I read in which the teacher set a limit on the project where 80% had to be content, and 20% was to be the presentation, such as a movie or PowerPoint. She indicated that it limited the amount of “play” with the creation of the presentation. I am always interested in finding ways of controlling the “play” usage when computers are used. I found my kids playing far more than learning.

Happy Easter to everyone!

One response to “Happy Easter

  1. Stephen Ransom

    Yes… the play is a natural part of learning. But to maximize learning, it takes a skilled teacher to create meaningful problems or situations in which that “play” can be put to use. Kindergarten instruction has had it right for years. Somehow, we kill children’s natural desire for curiosity, experimentation, (play) as they progress through the ranks. Play can look different as we mature and in different disciplines. And truthfully, it is not all that easy at times to retain this constructivist approach – but it is always something good to keep in our mind as we plan instruction. The trick is to put meaningful, relevant and engaging tasks in front of our students.

Leave a comment